Visiting Writers Series

The Visiting Writers Series began in the Spring of 2014 with a reading by poet Roger Reeves. After the start of the MFA in Creative Writing in the Fall of that year, the VWS took off. Over the past 8 years, the MFA in Creative Writing has hosted nationally renowned poets and writers, adding to the vibrant literary culture of Lexington. All events are free and open to the public.




Maurice Carlos Ruffin on Feb 7

Brittany Perham on March 6

Morgan Parker on April 10



Garth Greenwell

Gregory Pardlo

Mary Gaitskill

Mitchell S. Jackson

Viet Thanh Nquyen

Yona Harvey

Kelly Luce

Marie-Helene Bertino

Ramona Ausubel

Carrie Fountain

Margaret Lazarus Dean

Mary Karr

Tyehimba Jess

Ada Limón

Claire Vaye Watkins

Derek Palacio

Dinaw Mengestu

Eileen Myles

John Jeremiah Sullivan

Peter Fallon

Helen Oyeyemi

Rob Spillman

Wayne Kostenbaum

Adrian Matejka

Roxane Gay

Francisco Goldman

Ann Beattie

Dara Weir & Emily Pettit

Nic Brown

Jim Gavin

Jill McCorkle

Roger Reeves


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected