2022 English Awards Day

This year’s Awards Day event took place in the Esports Theatre Gallery, UKFCU Esports Lounge, 

Undergraduate, Graduate, Creative Writing, and Faculty awards

Keynote Address
Professor DaMaris Hill
2022 English Alumnus Award
Dr. Jeff Zurcher (BA ‘98), The Calipari Foundation
2022 English Alumna Award
Dr. Salome Nnoromele (PhD ‘95), Interim Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, Ohio University
Dantzler-Dantzler Award for Academic Achievement by a Senior
• Alex Stoeckle
O.J. & Ruby Wilson Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior
• Hailey Combs
Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship in Undergraduate English Education
• Deidra White
Julester Shrady Post Memorial Scholarship
• Clayton Dalton
• Hannah Timmerman
Barbara Sutton Cowles Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior
• Tanner Eckstein
• Jorden Keator
Michael Adelstein Award for Prospective High School Teachers of English
• Sam Johnson
Bill Bridges Scholarship for an Outstanding First-Generation College Graduate Majoring in English
• Alex Stoeckle
Sigma Tau Delta-Meritorious Service
• Jorden Keator
William Hugh Jansen Undergraduate Award for Distinguished Writing
• Deidra White, “Woodstock”
• Claire McKinney, “The Sea Close, the Sky Closer”
Best Undergraduate Essay in 200-Level Course
• Ian Harrison, “Ethnic Zombification: Get Out and Night of the Living Dead”
• Meghan Brockhman, “Rom Coms and Regency” - Honorable Mention
Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Individual Project
• Haley Patterson, “Isolation: Beyond the Yellow Wallpaper”
• Clayton Dalton, “Murder, She Wrote,” - Runner up
Distinction for Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Group Project
• Shayla Anaskevich, Jordan Balleza, Alexis Feltner, Michelle Jelencic, and Emma Plaxico, “The Relationships of Sisters in the Aftermath of a Missing Father Figure”
John Spalding Gatton Provost Scholarship
• Paige Johnson
2022 Provost Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
• Emily Naser-Hall
Ellershaw Award for an Outstanding PhD Candidate
• Jessica Van Gilder
William J. Sowder Award For Best Graduate Student Critical Paper
• Alex Gergely
• Hannah Schultz
Ben Wathen Black Memorial Graduate Scholarship in British Literature
• Katie Kohls
Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship in Graduate English Education
• Shannon Branfield
Robert L. Doty English Graduate Support Fund
• B Bailey
• Caitlin Coulter
Betty Combs Owen Recruitment Scholarship
• Savannah Bowen
Dantzler-Farquhar Award for Creative Writing
• Nonfiction: Dorothy Moore, “Mae, Make the Fire”
• Fiction: Blake Gidley, “Seasick”
• Poetry: Deidra White, “Meihua”
Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award
• Nonfiction: Lucy Jayes, “Survival Kit”
• Fiction: Allegra Solomon, “True Blue”
• Poetry: Alfonso Zapata, “Perishable Goods”
Nikky Finney Graduate Fellowship
• Incoming: Jazmin Witherspoon
• Returning: Kasimma
Outstanding MFA Teaching Assistant
• Betsy Packard
The Paul and Alice Richardson Creative Writing Scholarship
• Tyler Patton
UK Libraries King Library Press Poetry Broadside Contest
• Undergraduate: Atticus Combs
• Graduate: Betsy Packard
William Hugh Jansen Award
• NitaJade
2022 A&S Faculty Promotion of Diversity or Inclusion Award
• Crystal Wilkinson
2022 A&S Faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award
• Marion Rust
2022 A&S Faculty and Teaching Awards in the Humanities
• Regina Hamilton-Townsend
2022 A&S Staff Diversity and Inclusivity Award
• Kristen Pickett
2022 Provost Outstanding Teaching Award for Faculty
• Regina Hamilton-Townsend
Ellen Rosenman Distinguished Faculty Award
• Crystal Wilkinson
Twenty-Five Years of Service
• Michael Carter
Faculty Retirements
• Walter Foreman, 50 years of service. Retiring July 2022
• Gurney Norman, 43 years of service. Retiring December 2022
• Armando Prats, 47 years of service. Retiring July 2022
Graduate Degrees
Mark Hines
Sue Mize
Jamison Stoike
Kevin Bond
Chioma Ezeano
Payton Howard
Shanita Jackson
Betsy Packard
Allegra Solomon
Shannon Branfield
Kathryn McClain
Undergraduate Degrees
Haley Abrams
Madeleine Bittancourt
Asa Brackett *
Hailey Combs * ΣΤΔ
Jerri Cook
Clayton Dalton *
Tanner Eckstein *
Katherine Elliott
Dillon Ellzey *
Jalynn Felton
Blake Gidley
Kaelyn Harris *
Emmajean Hearty
Samuel Johnson
LaNina Jones
Jorden Keator * ΣΤΔ
Madison Krogman
Bethany Lawless
Ava Lawrey
Lisa Lawton
Jessie Lemaster
Noah Mattox
Claire McKinney *
Teresa Mehaffey
Katilin Meredith
Rachel O’Rourke *
Natalie Parks *
Bay Phillips
Benjamin Rigney
Destiny Robertson
Victoria Robinson *
Rachaell Scott
Eliot Sharp
Madison Spray
Sierra Stewart
Alexandra Stoeckle
Shelby Stratton
Hannah Timmermann * ΣΤΔ
Ryan Walker
Deidra White *
Emma Wicke
* Graduating with Honors
ΣΤΔ Sigma Tau Delta
Contact Us
(859) 257-7008
Twitter: @UKEngDept
Facebook: @UniversityOfKentucky.English
Chairperson: Dr. Jonathan Allison