About the English Department

The English Department at the University of Kentucky offers the B.A., M.A, MFA, and Ph.D. degrees. We boast an award-winning faculty in Literature and Creative Writing, who publish and teach across a wide range of subfields. With over 300 undergraduate majors and minors, the English Department specializes in producing versatile and imaginative students with the strong interpretive and communication skills needed for today's changing world.  Our graduate programs bring together ambitious and talented students with a faculty who is actively reshaping the boundaries of knowledge in the Humanities and beyond.

How to contact the English Department

Department of English
University of Kentucky
1215 Patterson Office Tower
Lexington, KY 40506-0027
Phone: (859) 257-7008
Fax: (859) 323-1072


Department Manager Senior
Kristen Pickett (kristen.pickett@uky.edu)

Department Manager Associate
Robin Rahija  (robin.rahija@uky.edu)

Department Chair
Jonathan Allison (jonathan.allison@uky.edu)

Director of Graduate Studies
Michael Trask (michael.trask@uky.edu

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Michelle Sizemore (michelle.sizemore@uky.edu)

Director of Creative Writing
Frank X Walker (fxw2@uky.edu