About the English Department

The English Department at the University of Kentucky offers the B.A., M.A, MFA, and Ph.D. degrees.  We also offer an MA in Linguistic Theory and Typology.  We boast an award-winning faculty in Literature, Creative Writing, and Linguistics who publish and teach across a wide range of subfields.  With over 300 undergraduate majors and minors, the English Department specializes in producing versatile and imaginative students with the strong interpretive and communication skills needed for today's changing world.  Our graduate programs bring together ambitious and talented students with a faculty who is actively reshaping the boundaries of knowledge in the Humanities and beyond.

How to contact the English Department

Department of English
University of Kentucky
1215 Patterson Office Tower
Lexington, KY 40506-0027
Phone: (859) 257-7008
Fax: (859) 323-1072

Department Manager Senior
Kristen Pickett (kristen.pickett@uky.edu)

Department Manager Associate
Laura Prather  (laura.prather@uky.edu)

Department Chair
Jeff Clymer (jeff.clymer@uky.edu)

Associate Chair
Peter Kalliney (peter.kalliney@uky.edu)

Director of Graduate Studies
Andy Doolen (avdool2@email.uky.edu)

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Pearl James (pearl.james@uky.edu)

Director of Linguistics
Andrew Hippisley (andrew.hippisley@uky.edu)

Director of Creative Writing
Julia Johnson (julia.johnson@uky.edu)

Enter your link blue username.
Enter your link blue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected