DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

A List

Annual Awards Day Ceremony

Friday, April 28, 2023 2:00 pm — 3:30 pm The Cornerstone — Esports Theater



Thank you for joining us for the Department of English's Annual Awards Day.

The accomplishments of our students would not be possible without the support of family members, friends, mentors, and faculty.

Forty-second Annual English Awards Day Ceremony

Jill Rappoport

Chair of the Department of English

Crystal Wilkinson
Associate Chair of the Department of English

Michelle Sizemore

Director of Undergraduate Studies

DaMaris B. Hill

Director of Graduate Studies

Frank X Walker

Director of Creative Writing

2023 English Alumnus Award

Dr. Terrence Tucker (PhD '06), current Chair of English at the University of Memphis.

Undergraduate Awards

Dantzler-Dantzler Award for Academic Achievement by a Senior

Sydney Scaggs

O.J. & Ruby Wilson Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior

Colton Barton

Julester Shrady Post Memorial Scholarship

- Caitlin Billica
- Eleni Karelis

Barbara Sutton Cowles Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior

- Shayla Anaskevich
- Bre Younger

Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship in Undergraduate English Education

· Kayleigh Dayka

Bill Bridges Scholarship for an Outstanding First-Generation College Graduate Majoring in English

Colton Barton

Michael Adelstein Award for Prospective High School Teachers of English

Savannah Hinton

The Paul & Alice Richardson Creative Writing Scholarship

Cierra Moore

William Hugh Jansen Undergraduate Award for Distinguished Writing

- Tyler Patton Creative Writing Category
- Lukas Bratcher Creative Writing Category
- M.E. Boileau Literary Studies/Academic Essay Category

Best Undergraduate Essay in 200-Level Course

- Taylor Decker Winner
- Riley Moses Honorable Mention

Graduate Awards

2023 Provost Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Katie Kohls

2022-2023 College of A&S Outstanding TA Award Winner

Kimaya Thakur

Ellershaw Award for an Outstanding PhD Candidate

Hannah Schultz

William J. Sowder Award For Best Graduate Student Critical Paper

- Grace Vowels for "Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Unimpressible Body"
- David Gifford for "Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen-Killer: Auricular Confession in Robert Browning's The Ring and the Book"

Ben Wathen Black Memorial Graduate Scholarship in British Literature

Sarah Garrod

Robert L. Doty English Graduate Support Fund

Anika Jensen

Jean G. Pival Outstanding Teaching Assistant

Daria Goncharova

Creative Writing Awards

Gurney Norman Prize

Eli Hughes

Jane Gentry Vance Poetry Prize

Eleni Karelis

Betty Combs Owen Recruitment Scholarship

Jeremy Tavares

Dantzler-Farquhar Award for Creative Writing

- Alaysha Crowe Prose Category
- Shelby Grissom Poetry Category

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award

- Deidra White CNF Category
- Henry Knollenberg Fiction Category
- Alfonso Zapata Poetry Category

Nikky Finney Graduate Fellowship

- Jazmin Witherspoon
- KeeShawn Murphy

UK Libraries King Library Press Poetry Broadside Contest

- Jazmin Witherspoon
- Eleni Karelis

Faculty & Staff Awards

2023 A&S Outstanding Teaching Awards

Peter Kalliney

2023 A&S Promotion of Diversity or Inclusion Award

Frank X Walker

2023 A&S Distinguished Service or Engagement Award

• Michelle Sizemore

Ellen Rosenman Distinguished Faculty Award

DaMaris Hill

Faculty Retirements

Marion Rust

Graduate Degrees

MA

Samuel Aftel Sarah Garrod Grace Vowels

MFA

Yusuf Akman Daniel Collins Sajida DiAugustine Dorothy Freeman Lucy Jayes Henry Knollenberg Kasimma Clay Shields Alfonso Zapata

PhD

Zach Griffith Richard Halkyard Margaret Kelly Emily Naser-Hall Justin Roberts Brandon West

Undergraduate Degrees

Shayla Anaskevich * Colton Barton * Caitlin Billica Lukas Bratcher Ethan Brock Andrew Corder Kayleigh Dayka Lauren Denton Hannah Dockery Thomas Ensor Morgan Estes Shelby Grissom * Cassandra Hahn * Ian Harrison * Savannah Hinton Erin Inouve William Jac Paige Johnston Eleni Karelis * Emma Markert Avery McCann Tonni McNeese Alexis Meade * Grace Moehring * Cierra Moore Lauren Myfelt Laura O'Flanagan Brooklyn Plotner Hanna Rellar

Stephanie Roberts
Orlando Rojas-Mercado
Sydney Scaggs
Mark Stephens
Nicholas Taylor
Ella Webster
James Whitaker
Meggie Wilson
Breanna Younger

* Graduating with Honors

Contact Us (859) 257-7008 english.as.uky.edu

Twitter: @UKEngDept

Facebook: @UniversityOfKentucky.English

Chairperson: Dr. Jill Rappoport

jill.rappoport@uky.edu