DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH

40th

Annual Awards Day Ceremony

Friday, May 7th, 2021 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Registration link: https://uky.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_tloanPuSTnSbBt8lvg2uqQ



Thank you for joining us for the English Department's Annual Awards Day.

The accomplishments of our students would not be possible without the support of family members, friends, mentors, and faculty.

Fortieth Annual English Awards Day Ceremony

Dr. Jonathan Allison
Chair of the Department of English

Dr. Janet Eldred
Associate Chair of the Department of English

Dr. Michelle Sizemore

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Prof. Frank X Walker
Director of Creative Writing

Dr. Michael Trask

Director of Graduate Studies

Keynote Address Prof. Crystal Wilkinson

Alumna of the Year Phillis Rambsy

Alumnus of the Year Luke Glaser

Undergraduate Awards

William Hugh Jansen Undergraduate Award for Distinguished Writing - Literary Studies/Academic Essay Category

Hannah Timmerman, "Culture and Conquest: Exploring Colonial Domination through Folklore in *Things Fall Apart*," from Jap-Nanak Makkar's ENG 370

William Hugh Jansen Award for Distinguished Writing - Runner-up, Literary Studies/Academic Essay Category

Dan Collins, "Magical Places in *The Celtic Twilight*," from Jonathan Allison's ENG 440G

William Hugh Jansen Undergraduate Award for Distinguished Writing - Creative Category Nikinabah McDarment, "Powwow," from Andrew Milward's ENG 507

William Hugh Jansen Undergraduate Award for Distinguished Writing Runner-up - Creative Category

Claire McKinney, "Can of Worms," from Andrew Milward's ENG 507

Barbara Sutton Cowles Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior Emilee Veltkamp Best Undergraduate Essay in 200-Level Course John Lacy, "Ray Bradbury's 'The Veldt' vs. its 1979 Film Adaptation," from Shannon Branfield's ENG 230

Bill Bridges Scholarship for an Outstanding First-Generation College Graduate Majoring in English Bailee Wingo

Dantzler-Dantzler Award for Academic Achievement by a Senior Akhira Umar

Julester Shrady Post Memorial Scholarship Eli O'Neal

Michael Adelstein Award for Prospective High School Teachers of English Heather Hues

O.J. & Ruby Wilson Scholarship for an Outstanding Senior Tara Pulaski Aileen Tierney

Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship in Undergraduate English Education Lily Morris Kayla Sanchez

Sigma Tau Delta-Meritorious Service Haley Powell Mason Dressler

Distinction for Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Individual Project Winner

Holden Treadway, "Found Plot Twist: Night of the Living Dead" from Katie McClain's ENG 230

Distinction for Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Runner-up, Individual Project Winner

Justin Chaney, "Holmes & Watson: How It Fails to Be a Detective Movie" from Shannon Branfield's ENG 230

Distinction for Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Group Project Winner Corinne Davies, Ashley Dutton, Dalton Roach, Sarah Ryan, and Ryan Zearley, "Watchmen: Masks and Justice" from Katie McClain's ENG 230

Distinction for Best Digital Project in a 200-level Literature and Film Course - Runner-up, Group Project Winner

Abby Eplin, Cassandra Hahn, Jemini McCloskey, Jules Ott, and Ellie Rice, "Motherhood in 1800s America in 'The Yellow Wallpaper' and *The Awakening*" from Katie McClain's ENG 230

Graduate Awards

A&S Certificate for Outstanding Teaching Katie McClain

Ben Wathen Black Memorial Graduate Scholarship in British Literature Matthew Wentz

Ellershaw Award for an Outstanding PhD Candidate Brittany Sulzener Jillian Winter

Patricia and William Stacy Endowed Fellowship in Graduate English Education Emily Goldsmith

Robert L. Doty English Graduate Support Fund Deb Daley

William J. Sowder Award For Best Graduate Student Critical Paper Alex Gergeley

Creative Writing Awards

William Hugh Jansen Award Gavin Colton (graduate)

Betty Combs Owen Recruitment Scholarship Lucy Jayes

Dantzler-Farquhar Award for Creative Writing Dan Collins (nonfiction), "Dear Dan," selected by Dr. Megan Pillow, co-editor of *The Audacity*, and UK PhD in English alumna

Jamie Moss (fiction), "Sweetpea," selected by Dr. John Duncan, UK MFA alumus in fiction

Nicole Stewart (poetry), "Pantoum of a Supernova," selected by Dorian Hairston, UK MFA alumus in poetry

Nikky Finney Graduate Fellowship Shanita Jackson (rising 2nd year) Isaiah Underwood (incoming 1st year)

Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Award Jordan Honeyblue (poetry), "MT-DNA," selected by Dorian Hairston, UK MFA alumus in poetry

Sarah Jiang (fiction), "Panning for Gold," selected by Dr. John Duncan, UK MFA alumus

in fiction

Erika Simpson (nonfiction), "If You Ever Find Yourself," selected by Dr. Megan Pillow, coeditor of *The Audacity*, and UK PhD alumna in English

Outstanding MFA Teaching Assistant Shanita Jackson

UK Libraries King Library Press Poetry Broadside Contest

Betsy Packard (graduate), "Bloody Harlan," selected by Kentucky poet Dr. Jeremy Paden

Nia Doyley (undergraduate), "Contemporary black girl, selected by Kentucky poet Dr. Jeremy Paden

Faculty Awards

A&S Outstanding Teaching Award for LecturersMichael Carter

Ellen Rosenman Distinguished Faculty Award Joyce MacDonald

William S. Ward Prize Michelle Sizemore

Graduate Degrees

MFA

Titus Chalk Gavin Colton Emily Goldsmith Jordan Honeyblue Sarah Jiang Chantel Kelly Michael McEwen Gabrielle Oliver Erika Simpson

MA

Darby Campbell Hannah Gautsch Alex Gergely Rachel McCoy

PhD

Claire Lenviel Leslie Malland Robert Gorum Benjamin Wilson

Undergraduate Degrees

Marty Anderson Logan Back **Sydney Banks** Kayla Biddle Paige Blackburn Jordan Bradt John Cardoza Lydia Cassim **Daniel Collins** Marissa Cremeans Helena Cybriwsky Abigail Davis Mason Dressler **Emilee Egbert** Victoria Ferguson **Remy Gaines** Miranda Griffieth Cole Hendricks Josephine Higgins Julia Johnston Olivia Jones Kristen Karem * Morgan Kindel Henry Knollenberg Brittney Kurkowski Aime Mabika Kennedy Miller Lily Morris Eli O'Neal

Morgan Nickson
Skyler Phillips *
Haley Powell
Tara Pulaski *
Jacob Robinson
Kayla Sanchez
William Sexton
Dalton Stokes
Kaitlynn Thomas
Aileen Tierney *
Connor Toles
Akhira Umar *
Heather Whitaker
Bailee Wingo *
Alexa Witt

* Graduating with Honors ΣΤΔ Sigma Tau Delta

Contact Us (859) 257-7008 english.as.uky.edu

Twitter: @UKEngDept

Facebook: @UniversityOfKentucky.English

Chairperson: Dr. Jonathan Allison

jonathan.allison@uky.edu