MFA Student Profiles

Class of 2023


Yusuf Akman 

Daniel Collins is a Lexington native studying creative nonfiction. He served in the U.S. Air Force from 2004 to 2011, an experience that informs most of his writing. He lives in Lexington with his wife and their two children, and he's an emotional support animal to their dog, Penny. Daniel loves soccer, music, and the outdoors.
Sajida DiAugustine received her BA in English from UK and is now pursuing her MFA as she completes her first novel about the Asian Indian immigrant experience. She works as a Documentation Manager for Tanium.
Dorothy Freeman recently retired from a career in public relations with the University of Kentucky’s College of Fine Arts. She has previously studied creative writing with professors Gurney Norman and Erik Reece and is currently working on a collection of short stories about her time spent as a single mother in San Francisco’s 1960s.
Lucy Jayes has fostered a love of writing since she was old enough to hold a pen. She graduated with a degree in English Literature from the University of Kentucky in 2014. During college, she interned for Ace Weekly magazine with a primary focus on covering local events and happenings in the food and beverage industry in Lexington. Upon graduating, she moved to Denver, CO and worked in nonprofit fundraising and event planning and as a conference manager and journalist for a trade magazine covering the legal cannabis industry. She is a first year MFA student at the University of Kentucky and focused on Creative Nonfiction writing.
Henry Knollenberg is a fiction writer from Des Moines, IA. He received his B.A. in English with the Creative Writing Option from the University of Kentucky in 2021. 
Kasimma She is the author of All Shades of Iberibe published by Sandorf Passage Publishers USA (2021). Her short stories and poems are published on The Puritan, Kikwetu Journal, Native Skin, Jellyfish Review, Afreecan Read, Cacti fur, The Bombay Review, Trampset, Sledgehammer, Cinnabar Moth Anthology, Meet Cute, and elsewhere. She has been awarded visiting residencies across Africa, Asia, and Europe. She is an alumna of Masterclass with Chigozie Obioma, Purple Hibiscus Creative Writing Workshop (curated by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie), IWP lines and spaces tour Workshop (curated by Chris Merrill), and SSDA Flow workshop (curated by Dami Ajayi).
Clay Shields has crooked middle fingers, a floating clavicle, and is allergic to bee stings. He writes about central Appalachia, the opioid crisis, family, identity, community, deviance. When not at his desk or in a classroom, he can be found riding one of his bicycles.
Alfonso Zapata is an MFA Candidate in the field of poetry. Alfonso has previously attended The University of Toledo and The University of Southern Mississippi, where he obtained his MA in poetry, and served as the poetry editor for the student-run publication Product.


Class of 2022


Kevin Bond is a fiction writer from Indianapolis, Indiana. In 2019, he received his B.A. in English: Creative Writing from Loyola University Chicago. 

Adachioma Ezeano is Igbo. She grew up in Nigeria, studied English Education at Nnamdi Azikiwe University, worked with First Bank of Nigeria 'fore moving to Kentucky. She is an alum of the Purple Hibiscus Workshop taught by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Her works or interviews have appeared in McSweeney’s Quarterly, Electric Literature, FlashBack Fictions, Deyu African, Brittle Paper. In 2019, she got nominated for Best of the Net and Best Small Fictions. In 2020, her work got anthologized in Best Small Fictions, 2020. 
Payton Howard is a fiction writer from Taylor County, Kentucky. She graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Centre College, where she studied history and creative writing.
Nita Jade is a self-proclaimed weirdo hailing from Asheville, NC. They have competed and performed their poetry and storytelling on local, regional, and national stages since 2012. They have keynoted local storytelling events in Western North Carolina and performed at TEDxGreenville’s HeadVROOM event alongside the late Tavis Brunson. Nita Jade has been published in the Anthology of Appalachian Writers, Charles Frazier Volume IX (April 2017), KRCC Voices (Issue 2, 2018), the Fall/Winter 2018-19 issue of The Griot: the Journal of African American Studies, and Rabbit Catastrophe Review #015 (2019). Nita Jade graduated from Berea College (2019) with a Bachelor’s Degree in African and African American Studies. They are currently an MFA Poetry Candidate and Teacher’s Assistant at UK.
Betsy Packard is from Needham, MA, and her family in that area goes back to the early 17th century giving her deep roots but also colonizer guilt. Her seafaring family produced a dad who was a career Coast Guard officer, so she's lived in many different places. She attended The Ohio State University in the 1970s earning a B.S. in Secondary Level Social Studies Education. Her graduate work was in Family Relations and Human Development, specializing in Developmental Disabilities.  In 1976, through a grant-funded project, she compiled and edited a resource guide for Ohio's persons with Developmental Disabilities, their families and service providers. In the mid '90s, she edited Open Minds, a grant funded project which was a collection of writing and artwork by Kentucky's mental health services consumers. Currently she am working toward a MFA in Creative Writing-Poetry at the University of Kentucky. 
Allegra Solomon  is a fiction writer from Columbus, Ohio. She got her B.A. in Creative Writing from Ohio Univeristy and has come to Kentucky to do more of what she loves. In her writing she often discusses relationships between people, the world around them, and the universal emotions that bond the characters to the reader. In her free time, she enjoys listening to music, playing her Nintendo Switch, and riding her bike. 




Class of 2021

makalani bandele, Gavin Colton, Emily Jean McCollister Goldsmith, Jordan Honeyblue, Sarah Jiang, Chantel Kelly, Gabrielle Oliver, Erika J. Simpson


Class of 2020

Ash Baker, Leigh Glanzman, John Larson, Michael McEwen, Kaylen Rose, Raquel Olive, Zeke Perkins, Dane Ritter, Hagan Smith, Peter Williams, Julie Kuzneski Wrinn 


Class of 2019

Laurie Clewett, Angel C. Dye, Jeremy Flick, Suzanne Fernandez Gray, Tiara Brown, Isabelle Johnson, Omaria Sanchez Pratt, Taylor Sarratt 


Class of 2018

Evan Arneson, Austin Baurichter, Austyn Gaffney, Dorian Hairston, Parker Hobson, Jordan Hubrich, Rachel Kersey, Max LeNeave, Neleigh Olson, Krystin Santos, Kate Tighe-Pigott, Sophie Weiner


Class of 2017

Bernard Clay, Chad Gilpin, Amanda Kelley. Gary Smith, Ashlie Stevens


Class of 2016

Sarah Abbott, Joy Bowman, Catherine Brereton, Sean L Corbin, John Duncan, Megan D. Henson, Benjamin Honea, Jesse Houk, Sean Madden, Robin Rahija, Jordyn Rhorer, Erin Shoot


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected